John Blalock

photo/video/instalation

Sizing the paper

Yesterday I sized my paper.  Sizing is a coating on paper that keeps pigment from sinking down into the fibers.

A simple proceedure

Especially with my fancy digital scale that I bought at the head shop.

First take 3.5grams of gelatin and mix with 125 ml of water

Let it stand for 30mins, then warm up (I used the microwave)

Add 5mls of Glyoxal as a hardener (to keep the gelatin from melting when using warm water baths)

Mix and brush on (some sources say to dip the paper, but I did not really have a good tray for this, so I just brushed this on)

Next week I hope to be printing!

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

Leave a Reply

